How to get the C-Cedilla on GNOME

4 03 2008

I have been through a lot of trouble to get c-cedilla (cê-cedilha, in portuguese) as the default for ‘ + c (accute accent + c) on GNOME. In case you don’t know what I am talking about, this is what the character looks like: ç.

Turns out that if I set my language to portuguese, I do get the cedilla by default. The problem is that I really prefer to have my system in english, and with this language I get this character by default: ć.

After reading a bit, I found the gtk-query-immodules-2.0 command, which I have used this way:

$ gtk-query-immodules-2.0 | grep cedilla
"/usr/lib/gtk-2.0/2.10.0/immodules/im-cedilla.so" 
"cedilla" "Cedilla" "gtk20" "/usr/share/locale" "az:ca:co:fr:gv:oc:pt:sq:tr:wa"

This tells me which languages will have the c-cedilla behaviour by default. After some more research I found this link which pointed me to the file /usr/lib/gtk-2.0/2.10.0/immodule-files.d/libgtk2.0-0.immodules. I have edited the cedilla section of this file by adding

:en

to the end of the languages array, like this:

"/usr/lib/gtk-2.0/2.10.0/immodules/im-cedilla.so"
"cedilla" "Cedilla" "gtk20" "/usr/share/locale" "az:ca:co:fr:gv:oc:pt:sq:tr:wa:en"

This should be enough. When I restart X I will post the results here.

Update: Yes, it did! Just as a reminder, it is also necessary to choose the international variant of your keyboard. To do that, go to System / Preferences / Keyboard, open the Layouts tab, click on Add and choose your layout (United Kingdom, in my case) and Variation: International (with dead keys).

Actions

Information

9 responses

16 07 2008
Andrei Bergel

Thanks. It works like a charm.

17 10 2008
Jean Pacanaro

Very useful tip. It works fine !

2 12 2008
Maria Rita

quanta mão para um ç, hein?!?

3 12 2008
Cassiano Bertol Leal

é

27 12 2008
MrFr0g

AltGr + , (comma), works fine for me.

7 01 2009
israel vainsencher

ç ok almost everywhere.
but fails in emacs: $-1 § §

$-1 ¦

???

26 04 2009
Pedro Ribeiro

Thanks!!!

28 05 2010
Benjamin Chery

Seems that non-gtk applications won’t display ‘ç’ but ‘ć’. Unless there is a similar trick for QT apps (eg: Skype), you can still use following codes:
– Right-Alt-,c : ç lower case c cedilla (Right-alt-comma then c)
– Right-Alt-,C : Ç Upper case c cedilla

24 01 2013
Brother

Thank you so much!!! Worked for me on Debian/Gnome/Compiz

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

